The search for masts

I called the Shakespeare company in South Carolina the other day to see about ordering two of their fibreglass composite poles for masts. They have been used for Junk rig before and the reports are very positive. A 30 and 45 foot pole would set me back around $2,000, which is within my budget, but according to them the shipping would cost $4,500 to $5,500 just to get them here! Ouch!

So now I’m looking at other options like sourcing some suitable felled trees here in PEI that I can shape into suitable grown masts.

Got a few leads but nothing substantial yet. I’m keeping all my options open.

Leave a Reply

