Plan B

When I limped back to St. John’s Friday evening with a broken main mast I was reconciled to keeping my boat in Newfoundland for the winter while I sourced and installed a new mast. However, after spending the next evening with an extraordinary individual I was inspired to greater possibilities. When I opened my eyes the following morning and gazed at the junk rig blueprint plans on the bulkhead (now with a jagged line through the main mast where it broke), it dawned on me how I could use the remaining mast to re-rig a furled main sail of approx. 175 sq. feet. Together with the fore sail of 225 sq feet I would have around 400 sq feet, or approx two-thirds of the original sail plan of 635 sq. feet.

400 sq. feet of canvas would be enough to move the boat art a reasonable speed I figure. So I set about transforming the 14.5 foot main mast stump into a working mast and rig the main so as to have the full fan head and one panel to sail with.

junk rig jury

The new look

The main sail is now hoisted with a three part halyard and a modified topping lift to help contain the considerable bulk of the furled bottom four panels. I have omitted re-inserting the battens in the furled part of the sail and have lashed the lowest working batten to the boom. I have replaced the luff hauling parrel with standing parrels but kept the yard hauling parrel. I have extended the lower fan head batten and attached a single sheet block to its end.The boom/batten and and batten above have a sheet span connecting them attached to the sheet with double blocks (one on the sheet span, one for the sheet. I have sheeted it with first pull on the single block on the uppermost sheeted batten.

Given this arrangement and the extra purchase of the single block, I believe incidence of sail twist will largely be eliminated.

I am reasonably confident I will be able to achieve and maintain hull speed (5.5 knots) in winds of 10 to 13 knots with fast speeds at 15+ knots.

The winds look favourable from Friday on and I will probably be experiencing winds of 20 to 30 knots later in the week. I am planning therefore to depart Friday morning. If I run into difficulty with the new arrangement I will return to port Friday evening and revert to my former plan of remaining in Newfoundland for the winter. If all goes well I will push on to the British Isles. So if there is no more entries in this blog by, say, Sunday or Monday, it means I’m going for the crossing.

One response to “Plan B

  1. Well done! Da iawn!

Leave a Reply

